Recipe Review Of Mrs. Plant In Texas’ Spinach Sun-Dried Tomato Quiche — Tasty Tuesday

Inspirate With Gina
3 min readMay 18, 2021

--

This review is not sponsored. I purchased all of the ingredients and sneaky me didn’t even tell this amazing cook that I tested her recipe with the intention of reviewing it. Surprise! *My rating system is noted at the end of the post.

Mrs. Plant In Texas is a plant-based cook with an inspiring story. If you already subscribe to Mrs. Plant In Texas then you know what a genius she is when it comes to recipes with easy-to-find, pronounceable ingredients and that her recipes are well researched.

Where I originally heard about Mrs. Plant is through her sister, Diane, who is the creative genius behind A Joy Forever Bath + Body. If you’re looking for quality, handmade, plant-based bath, body, home, and pet care items, check out this buyer’s guide review on my other, other blog, The Reiki Café dot com.

Now on with the review!

What attracted me to the recipe is how much I love spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, and quiche. The crust is gluten-free like me and I’ve been conscious about eating less oil.

Making the recipe involved more steps than I am used to putting into a quiche because I used to buy frozen pie shells. What I learned in making this recipe is that I don’t need the crust at all, but I’m glad I tried making this one because I learned a lot through the experience.

Steam-fry is a great technique for those using less oil and it was perfect for this recipe.

A great addition I didn’t know to add at the time is Trader Joe’s Habanero Hot Sauce, crushed red chili, or chipotle. Without them the quiche is good, evidenced by how we gobbled it up in one meal, but the extra spice would kick it up to excellent.

This recipe can be customized with all your favorite vegetables and it is protein-rich because of the tofu. The recipe calls for firm tofu. I used Trader Joe’s Organic Sprouted Tofu, which I always recommend because nutrients are more easily absorbed. As with all soy, be aware of how much you consume and how it feels to you. Back in 2006 I attended a conference with a panel of nutrition experts and the one factor they agreed on, at all, was that soy should be consumed in moderation. I was already doing that and have seen no reason to add more soy to my eating plan. I feel fine when I eat tofu as part of a balanced diet, so I continue to eat it, recommend it to clients, and serve it to my family.

If you want your quiche to look more traditional (not white), add in some turmeric to get a yellow tint. The texture was superb and all I did was follow the recipe.

I highly recommend this quiche filling as a perfect base and plan to experiment with it more in the future. The fact that it can be made ahead is always a big plus for me.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Your inspired friend,

Gina

Tasty Tuesday is where you can read about nutrition from a Certified Nutrition Consultant with a bachelor’s degree in nutrition (2005) who is also an avid foodie and cook. I love to share recipes, taste tests, ingredients, cookbook reviews, and recipe reviews.

*1 = I absolutely did not like it.

2 = It’s okay.

3 = I like it.

4 = I really like it.

5 = I love it.

--

--

Inspirate With Gina

Inspirate: A made-up word that means to breathe in inspiration and let it embody you. Let’s live an inspired life together.